Saturday, November 21, 2009

Overly Dramatic

Ben
Rebecca, his wife


(As they enter their house, BEN hangs the keys up and they both take off their jackets. REBECCA has a big spill stain on her dress)

BEN: What's wrong with you today? You didn't say a word the whole ride home.

REBECCA: Apparently a lot is wrong with me.

BEN: Well what's that supposed to mean?

REBECCA: Oh don't act like you don't know!

BEN: I don't!

REBECCA: I saw the way your friends looked at me at the party. I know what they must have been thinking when they saw you with me.

BEN: Is this about when you spilled that drink on your dress? I told you, no one was laughing...(chuckles) well I was, but I already said I'm sorry!

REBECCA: No, that's not what I meant.

BEN: Well then what's your problem?!

REBECCA: The way they looked at me, it was like I was so beneath them. They were looking right through me.

BEN: You know that's not true. They respect you just as they respect me. So what if you got little spill on your dress. It was no big deal.

REBECCA: This isn't about the spill!

BEN: Then what is it about? You want them to treat you like a queen? Huh? Is that it? Like you're some kind of empress they have to bow down to?

(Rebecca is almost in tears but then stands her ground)

REBECCA: No. But a little common decency would be appreciated. The women at the party wouldn't even hold a conversation with me! And your friends looked at me like I was some kind of hired hooker!

BEN: Why do you care so much about your image?

REBECCA: What image? I don't even have an image among those people! I have never seen you without a jacket. I always feel like such a slob compared to you. Before we were married, I was sure you slept with a tie.

BEN: Oh so I'm the bad guy?! Just because I wear suits to work and have friends that are intellectuals, that makes me a jerk?

REBECCA: I didn't say you were a jerk,

BEN: You might as well have. It's clear you're jealous of my appearance. (raises nose in air)

REBECCA: Jealous of-... You are completely missing the point, Ben! I can't be subjected to judgment from your snooty friends every time we go out!

BEN: Well, fine! Let's move to a cave. We'll never go out in public again! Is that what you want?

REBECCA: Oh you're being completely overly dramatic.

BEN: Am I Rebecca? Am I really?

REBECCA: ...Yes Ben, you are.

BEN: Well fine then, I'll go spend the night at my "snooty friend's" house. Wouldn't want to make your life "overly dramatic"!

REBECCA: Ben!

(BEN exits, slamming the door behind him. Rebecca sighs and exits)

2 comments:

  1. Lost in Translation sounds really good. If I ever get a chance to rent it, I definitely will. I love a good movie that's kind of surprising and makes you think and that's definitely how you made it seem.

    ReplyDelete
  2. First, I'd like to say it's weird I'm commenting about your movie on your scene, I don't know why it just bothers me.

    Anywho! I think I might just go out and see Lost in Translation because of how well you described it. I liked also how you related it to yourself and what not.

    ReplyDelete